What Does It Mean To Have A Condition On The Compassionate Allowance List?

11 January 2023
 Categories: Law, Blog


If you have had an accident or experienced an illness that has you unable to do gainful work, you may qualify for Social Security Disability. Unfortunately, applying for and receiving Social Security Disability can sometimes take months or even years. Social Security may fast-track your claim if you contract with a Social Security law firm or have a condition on the Compassionate Allowance List. What is the Compassionate Allowance List, and what types of conditions does it contain? Here is more information. 

What Is the Compassionate Allowance Program?

Social Security's Compassionate Allowance program is a way for Social Security to expedite processing and financial assistance for people with specific disabling conditions. Social Security designed the program to reduce the waiting period usually associated with disability determinations and the disbursement of benefits.

This program is an evaluation tool for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) applicants with some of the most serious illnesses and impairments. If you suffer from one of the illnesses or impairments on the list, Social Security will expedite your application and attempt to get you the financial benefits you need.

How Does the Compassionate Allowance Program Work?

Compassionate Allowance enrollment is determined by Social Security identifying claims that meet their standard of disability from conditions contained on the Compassionate Allowance list. Because of the severity of your illness or impairment, it is essential that you consult a Social Security law group to ensure your application is complete and you submit the proper evidence in the beginning. 

Your application must contain specific facts, including a diagnosis and treatment of a condition on the list. Your medical information must also show how your condition impacts your ability to work and where you are in your prognosis. 

Once Social Security reviews your completed application, and you meet the criteria, the agency fast-tracks your application to determine and disburse your benefits. This process hopefully means you receive benefits quicker than you would in the normal process. 

What Types of Conditions Are on the List?

Most of the conditions on the Compassionate Allowance list are some of the most severe medical conditions a patient experiences. Social Security adds new conditions periodically to the list based on input from the medical and scientific communities. Patients and community members can also submit conditions to Social Security for consideration of being on the list.

A few examples of conditions on the list include the following:

  • Ewing's Sarcoma
  • Gallbladder Cancer
  • Breast Cancer
  • Brain Cancer
  • Acute Leukemia
  • Rett Syndrome
  • Juvenile Onset Huntington's Disease
  • Heart Transplant Recipient
  • Zellweger Syndrome

There are many more. You can find a complete list at https://www.ssa.gov/compassionateallowances/conditions.htm. Speak to a Social Security law firm to find out more.